The Inappropriately Personal Author Interview: No.1 – Lucy Felthouse

When I started writing erotica earlier this year, Lucy Felthouse was one of the first people I came into contact with – initially through reading her fine work (see review here) and later through Twitter, where she was kind enough to give me some help and guidance in my quest to become a thoroughly disreputable purveyor of sexiness.

So, when I decided to start a new Author Interview segment, Lucy was the first person I thought of asking to take part.

Jared Padalecki - one of Lucy's muses

Jared Padalecki – one of Lucy’s muses

Lucy writes wonderfully hot erotica and erotic romance in a variety of sub-genres. She has over 70 publications to her name and has edited a number of erotic anthologies. She owns Erotica for All and is Book Editor for Cliterati.

In this interview, I try to get inside Lucy’s erotic brain…

CD: Your first erotic story was called ‘Sam & Katie’, which you wrote  while at University. How did that come about and what can you recall about showing it to your friends?
Lucy: One lunchtime, one of my friends suggested I should write an erotic story. I resisted, until he dared me. So I asked for his fantasy and a couple of name suggestions, then went away and wrote the story. I brought it back into University a few days later and showed it to the people involved in the original conversation (I don’t think it’s a coincidence that they were all men!), and let’s just say none of them got up for a little while.

CD: Yes, it’s always nice when there’s a clear physical reaction to one’s work… Do you have particular people in mind when writing your stories? Friends? Lovers or ex-lovers? Famous people?
Lucy: I don’t write about real people. Some of my characters may look like real people, but I don’t write about friends or people I know, because I like to keep my writing separate from real life. Many of my characters, it has to be said, bear striking resemblances to my favourite male celebrity crushes…

CD: Similarly, do you like to draw on your own sexual experiences when writing?
Lucy: No, absolutely not. My private life is private. The only way I’ve drawn on real life is that basically, I’m not a virgin!

CD: Damn – we wanted details! OK, do friends ever give you material from their own experiences for your stories?
Lucy: Perhaps not intentionally! I’m a fan of writing military stories, and it’s quite useful to know a few people in the military, or who are ex-military. Therefore, they get asked lots of questions and occasionally, something they’ve said might find its way into a story, albeit sexed up! For example, my m/m short story, Ditched, is based on a true story about an army exercise. That’s the only true part, though. My friend isn’t gay, and there definitely wasn’t any sex on Salisbury Plain. Not on that occasion, anyway. It probably happens… but not concerning my friend.

CD: I think we all hope that it does happen, yes… We all know that erotica is full of fantasy – but have you ever had a sexual experience that felt like it was straight out of an erotic story?
Lucy: Yes. And that’s all I’m saying!

CD: Well, we can try and use our imaginations, I suppose. Now, you have written from the point of view of a man before (for example in A Taste of London) – how did you find that process?
Lucy: Lots of fun! And not too difficult, actually. I have several male friends, all of whom know what I write, and I suspect it makes them more open with me than they would be other women. So I find it quite easy, after many conversations over the years, to get into their mindset and write from a male perspective.

CD: Which of all your stories is your favourite, and why?
Lucy: That would be Stately Pleasures, my as-yet-unpublished novel. It’s my favourite because it’s the first full-length novel I ever wrote, because it was a learning curve, because I achieved the goal. Plus, the storyline was so much fun to write and draws on my love of old houses and mansions. Also, the lead male characters are smokin’ hot, and bear uncanny resemblances to Jeremy Renner and Jared Padalecki.

CD: Sounds awesome – looking forward to reading that. Who, apart from CD Foxwell of course, are your favourite erotic authors and why?
Lucy: I read such a lot of erotica and erotic romance that it’s difficult to maintain a select few that I would class as favourites. But here are some of them: Portia Da Costa, Saskia Walker, K D Grace, Kay Jaybee, Justine Elyot, Lily Harlem and Victoria Blisse. The best part is that most of those are my friends, too!

CD: And finally, do you have an unfulfilled sexual fantasy that you could tell us about?
Lucy: Of course. Right now, I’d really like to get naked and sweaty with Henry Cavill.

We would like to recommend Lucy’s story, A French Affair. Here’s the blurb, followed by details of how you can follow/keep up to date with/online stalk Lucy…afrenchaffair

Sydney Tyler is renting a barn conversion in Northern France, planning to spend the fortnight getting some words down on her novel. Unfortunately, construction work in the other half of the building puts an end to her peace and quiet. Genuinely upset that the builders are going to disturb her, the property’s handsome English owner, Harry Bay, offers to make it up to her. He’s a little flirtatious, and after spotting his wedding ring, Sydney keeps him at arm’s length. Sexy as he is, she has no intention of getting involved with a married man. But when Sydney learns the truth about Harry, will their mutual attraction spur them on to work through their emotional baggage and make this more than just a French affair?

More info on A French Affair, plus an excerpt and buy links.
Follow Lucy on Twitter.
Join Lucy on Facebook.
Visit Lucy’s website.
Subscribe to Lucy’s newsletter.//

One thought on “The Inappropriately Personal Author Interview: No.1 – Lucy Felthouse

  1. What an awesome interview! Stately Pleasures sounds delicious (and how could you miss with two hot muses like that!!!) And I’m so with you on Henry Cavil. Yum! A French Affair sounds so good!

Leave a Reply

